Behind a Mask: A Short Story Collection

Behind a Mask: A Short Story Collection

By: Louisa May Alcott

  • Reg. Price › $8.00
  • eBook
  • Sale Price › $5.60
  • Book + eBook
  • Reg. Price › $8.80
  • Share this book:
  • Share on Google+

The author of Little Women and other beloved classics, Louisa May Alcott grew up in a community of New England transcendentalists that included Thoreau and Emerson. Because her learned but impractical father was a poor provider, she supported her family by writing magazine stories that were often published anonymously.
This collection reveals the "other" Alcott, featuring "Behind a Mask" and "Pauline's Passion and Punishment," thrilling tales of seduction, betrayal, and murder that strike a markedly different tone and characterization from Alcott's best-known work. Other selections include two pieces from Hospital Sketches, the author's fictionalized accounts of her Civil War nursing experiences; "My Contraband," a tale of vengeance involving a Civil War nurse, her Confederate patient, and his former slave; "Happy Women," concerning four "spinsters" with a positive attitude toward their marital status; and "How I Went Out to Service," an autobiographical sketch of a young woman's pursuit of financial independence.

Dover Original.
AvailabilityUsually ships in 24 to 48 hours
ISBN 100486842908
ISBN 139780486842905
Author/EditorLouisa May Alcott
Page Count208
Dimensions5 x 8

You might also Like...

Out of Stock Notification: