Symphonies Nos. 6 and 7 in Full Score

Symphonies Nos. 6 and 7 in Full Score

By: Jean Sibelius

  • Reg. Price › $24.95
  • Share this book:
  • Share on Google+

The music of composer Jean Sibelius (1865–1957) is often credited with helping Finland form a national identity in its struggle for independence from Russia. Inspired by nature and Nordic mythology, his works include seven symphonies as well as tone poems and choral music.
Symphony No. 6 in D Minor, Op. 104, is a "poem within the framework of a symphony," and Symphony No. 7 in C Major, Op. 105, is a one-movement "symphonic fantasy." Conductor Osma Vänskä, a noted interpreter of the composer's music, observed that "Number Six is autobiographical. An aging man feels his own incapacity. The ideals are there, but he cannot reach them. The Seventh forms a pair with the Sixth, but it is not autobiographical. Number Seven is sacred music." Reprinted from authoritative sources, this edition offers musicians and music lovers a sturdy, single volume of Sibelius's last symphonies.

Dover Original.
AvailabilityUsually ships in 24 to 48 hours
ISBN 100486842215
ISBN 139780486842219
Author/EditorJean Sibelius
Page Count176
Dimensions9 x 12

You might also Like...

Out of Stock Notification: