x

Droll Stories: Selected Tales

Droll Stories: Selected Tales

By: Honore de Balzac

  • Reg. Price › $6.00
  • Sale Price › $4.50
  • You Save › 25%
  • eBook
  • Sale Price › $4.80
  • Book + eBook
  • Reg. Price › $6.60
  • Share this book:
  • Share on Google+

These choice selections from Honoré de Balzac's Droll Stories offer a lively and lusty portrait of sixteenth-century French life and manners. Told in the tradition of Boccaccio, Chaucer, and Rabelais, they allegedly originated in manuscripts from the abbeys of Touraine. Originally published in three sets of ten tales in the 1830s, the stories abound in episodes of good-humored licentiousness that scandalized Balzac's contemporaries and continue to delight modern readers.
French novelist and playwright Honoré de Balzac (1799–1850) was a founder of realism in European literature. An inspiration to Proust, Dickens, Faulkner, Dostoyevsky, and countless others, Balzac wrote works that were hailed for their multifaceted characters and exquisite attention to detail. This edition's excellent translation was the first to make his Contes Drolatiques available to English-speaking readers.

Dover Original.
AvailabilityUsually ships in 24 to 48 hours
ISBN 100486826678
ISBN 139780486826677
Author/EditorHonore de Balzac
Page Count176
Dimensions5 x 8

You might also Like...

Product Review

Out of Stock Notification:
Coming Soon: