The Masterwork in Music: Volume II, 1926

The Masterwork in Music: Volume II, 1926

By: Ian Bent, Heinrich Schenker, Hedi Siegel, John Rothgeb, William Drabkin

  • Reg. Price › $22.95
  • eBook
  • Sale Price › $18.36
  • Book + eBook
  • Reg. Price › $25.25
  • Share this book:
  • Share on Google+

The three volumes of The Masterwork in Music present complete English translations of major works by Austrian music theorist Heinrich Schenker, one of the twentieth century's leading figures in the field. First published in German between 1925 and 1930, these essays represent Schenker's greatest writings in analysis prior to the 1935 definitive formulation of his theory of music in Der freie Satz (Free Composition). This new publication of the long-awaited English translation, which first appeared in the distinguished Cambridge University Press edition, provides a valuable resource for scholars. Editorial annotations and elucidations by Dr. William Drabkin and his translators offer additional insights.
This volume features a major essay on Mozart's Symphony No. 40 in G minor; studies of Bach keyboard and solo cello pieces; works by Haydn and Reger; theoretical writings on sonata form and fugue; and many examples of Schenkerian theory. Volume One includes analyses of keyboard works by Bach, Scarlatti, Chopin, Beethoven, and Handel and solo violin music by Bach, along with studies of other works. Volume Three's contents include Schenker's celebrated analysis of Beethoven's "Eroica" Symphony and other works.

Reprint of The Masterwork in Music, A Yearbook, Volume II, Cambridge University Press, 1996, with a new Introduction by William Drabkin.

AvailabilityUsually ships in 24 to 48 hours
ISBN 100486780031
ISBN 139780486780030
Author/EditorIan Bent, Heinrich Schenker, Hedi Siegel, John Rothgeb, William Drabkin
Page Count160
Dimensions10 7/8 x 8 3/8

You might also Like...

Out of Stock Notification: