The Masterwork in Music: Volume I, 1925

The Masterwork in Music: Volume I, 1925

By: Ian Bent, Heinrich Schenker, John Rothgeb, Richard Kramer, William Drabkin

  • Reg. Price › $22.95
  • eBook
  • Sale Price › $18.36
  • Book + eBook
  • Reg. Price › $25.25
  • Share this book:
  • Share on Google+

The three volumes of The Masterwork in Music present complete English translations of major works by Austrian music theorist Heinrich Schenker, one of the twentieth century's leading figures in the field. First published in German between 1925 and 1930, these essays represent Schenker's greatest writings in analysis prior to the 1935 definitive formulation of his theory of music in Der freie Satz (Free Composition). This new publication of the long-awaited English translation, which first appeared in the distinguished Cambridge University Press edition, provides a valuable resource for scholars. Editorial annotations and elucidations by Dr.William Drabkin and his translators offer additional insights.
Volume One includes analyses of keyboard pieces by Bach, Scarlatti, Chopin, and Beethoven, along with studies of solo violin music by Bach. Volume Two contains a major essay on Mozart's Symphony No. 40 in G minor and shorter studies of works by Bach, Haydn, and Reger. Volume Three's contents include Schenker's celebrated analysis of Beethoven's "Eroica" Symphony and other works.

Reprint of The Masterwork in Music, A Yearbook, Volume I, Cambridge University Press, 1994, with a new Introduction by William Drabkin.

AvailabilityUsually ships in 24 to 48 hours
ISBN 100486780023
ISBN 139780486780023
Author/EditorIan Bent, Heinrich Schenker, John Rothgeb, Richard Kramer, William Drabkin
Page Count160
Dimensions10 7/8 x 8 3/8

You might also Like...

Out of Stock Notification: