The Masterwork in Music: Volume III, 1930

The Masterwork in Music: Volume III, 1930

By: Ian Bent, Heinrich Schenker, Derrick Puffett, Alfred Clayton, William Drabkin

  • Reg. Price › $22.95
  • eBook
  • Sale Price › $18.36
  • Book + eBook
  • Reg. Price › $25.25
  • Share this book:
  • Share on Google+

The three volumes of The Masterwork in Music present complete English translations of major works by Austrian music theorist Heinrich Schenker, one of the twentieth century's leading figures in the field. First published in German between 1925 and 1930, these essays represent Schenker's greatest writings in analysis prior to the 1935 definitive formulation of his theory of music in Der freie Satz (Free Composition). This new publication of the long-awaited English translation, which first appeared in the distinguished Cambridge University Press edition, provides a valuable resource for scholars. Editorial annotations and elucidations by Dr. William Drabkin and his translators offer additional insights.
This volume comprises the eminent Austrian theorist's main writings from the mid-1920s to 1930. In addition to essays on music theory in cultural context, the book is dominated by one of Schenker's most celebrated studies of a single work: the analysis of Beethoven's "Eroica" Symphony, which discusses all four movements in painstaking detail. Volume One includes analyses of keyboard works by Bach, Scarlatti, Chopin, Beethoven, and Handel and solo violin music by Bach, along with studies of other works. Volume Two contains a major essay on Mozart's Symphony No. 40 in G minor and shorter studies of works by Bach, Haydn, and Reger.

Reprint of The Masterwork in Music, A Yearbook, Volume III, Cambridge University Press, 1997, with a new Introduction by William Drabkin.
AvailabilityUsually ships in 24 to 48 hours
ISBN 10048678004X
ISBN 139780486780047
Author/EditorIan Bent, Heinrich Schenker, Derrick Puffett, Alfred Clayton, William Drabkin
Page Count144
Dimensions10 7/8 x 8 3/8

You might also Like...

Out of Stock Notification: