The Firebird for Solo Piano: Complete Ballet

The Firebird for Solo Piano: Complete Ballet

By: Igor Stravinsky

  • Reg. Price › $11.95
  • Share this book:
  • Share on Google+

This product has limited availability outside the US. Click here for details.

Composed in 1910, The Firebird was the first of many successful ballets that brought Igor Stravinsky international recognition. In collaboration with Sergei Diaghilev of the Ballets Russe, Stravinsky based his score on an old Russian fairytale. It tells a musical story of a prince's kindness to a captive bird, his encounter with a bevy of princesses trapped in an enchanted garden, and his battle against an army of monsters. "You don't even have to see the stage," explained Leonard Bernstein in his Young People's Concerts, "the music tells you everything. This music does honor to the art of ballet, and to music, and to Stravinsky himself, the greatest master our century has produced."
This edition is Stravinsky's own reduction for solo piano. Originally intended for Ballets Russe rehearsals, this arrangement has evolved into a popular and challenging part of the piano repertoire. It also offers an excellent way for listeners to follow this complex work and to fully appreciate its brilliance.

Reprint of the G. Schirmer, n.d. edition.
AvailabilityUsually ships in 24 to 48 hours
ISBN 10048644953X
ISBN 139780486449531
Author/EditorIgor Stravinsky
Page Count80
Dimensions9 x 12

You might also Like...

Product Review

Out of Stock Notification:
Market Restrictions:
We're sorry, but we can only ship this product to addresses in the continental United States, Hawaii, Alaska, Puerto Rico, Guam and the Virgin Islands. Although we try to make our products available everywhere, we occasionally have agreements with distribution partners, other publishers or face international copyright restrictions that prevent us from doing so.