Daphnis and Chloe: Suites I and II in Full Score

Daphnis and Chloe: Suites I and II in Full Score

By: Maurice Ravel

  • Reg. Price › $19.95
  • Share this book:
  • Share on Google+

This product has limited availability outside the US. Click here for details.

Composed for Diaghilev and the Ballet Russes, Daphnis and Chloé was drawn from an ancient Greek fable about a pair of abandoned infants who grow up together, fall in love, and are delivered from the treachery of pirates by the god Pan. Upon receipt of the commission for this work, Ravel announced his intention to "compose a vast musical fresco, less scrupulous as to archaism than faithful to the Greece of my dreams, which inclined readily enough to what French artists of the late 18th century have imagined and depicted." The resulting "choreographic symphony" features a captivating combination of orchestral traditions and modern ideals.
Reproduced from authoritative editions, these two suites are extracted from the complete ballet. This affordable version is their first appearance in a single volume, promising convenience and value as well as the pleasure and enlightenment of Ravel's inspired vision.

Reprint of early authoritative editions.
AvailabilityUsually ships in 24 to 48 hours
ISBN 100486449513
ISBN 139780486449517
Author/EditorMaurice Ravel
Page Count208
Dimensions9 x 12

You might also Like...

Product Review

Out of Stock Notification:
Market Restrictions:
We're sorry, but we cannot ship this product to addresses in France. Although we try to make our products available everywhere, we occasionally have agreements with distribution partners, other publishers or face international copyright restrictions that prevent us from doing so.