Violin Concerto No. 1 in D-Major, Op. 19: Dover Performance Edition

Violin Concerto No. 1 in D-Major, Op. 19: Dover Performance Edition

By: Sergei Prokofiev

  • Reg. Price › $9.95
  • Share this book:
  • Share on Google+

This product has limited availability outside the US. Click here for details.

Completed in 1917, Prokofiev's Violin Concerto No. 1 has long been a favorite of audiences and a requisite work in the repertoire of every serious violin student. This Dover performance edition of the meditative, lyrical score contains a piano reduction and separate violin part.
Suitable for advanced-intermediate and advanced violinists and students, this piece was characterized by the composer as a "softening of temper" from the tone of his early works—despite the fact that it was completed amid the tumult of the October Revolution. The concerto premiered the following year at the Paris Opera and a few days later in the newly formed Soviet Union, where it was performed by a pair of teenagers: virtuoso violinist Nathan Milstein and the legendary Vladimir Horowitz, who played the orchestral part on the piano. Reprinted from an authoritative source, this inexpensive edition of Prokofiev's work will delight both performers and listeners.

Reprint of the A. Gutheil, Moscow, 1921 edition.
AvailabilityUsually ships in 24 to 48 hours
ISBN 100486439224
ISBN 139780486439228
Author/EditorSergei Prokofiev
Page Count48
Dimensions9 x 11

You might also Like...

Product Review

Out of Stock Notification:
Coming Soon:
Market Restrictions:
We're sorry, but we cannot ship this product to addresses in Hungary, Lithuania, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Switzerland and countries that are part of the European Union. Although we try to make our products available everywhere, we occasionally have agreements with distribution partners, other publishers or face international copyright restrictions that prevent us from doing so.