Le Tombeau de Couperin and Valses Nobles et Sentimentales in Full Score

Le Tombeau de Couperin and Valses Nobles et Sentimentales in Full Score

By: Maurice Ravel

  • Music Scores
  • Reg. Price › $18.95
  • Share this book:
  • Share on Google+

This product has limited availability outside the US. Click here for details.

This volume contains a pair of works originally written for piano by French composer Maurice Ravel (1875–1937) and later orchestrated by him. Conceived as homage to eighteenth-century French music, Le Tombeau de Couperin (Couperin's Tomb) is a four-piece suite consisting of "Prelude," "Forlane," "Menuet," and "Rigaudon." Written between 1914 and 1917, it was dedicated to the composer's close friends who died in World War I.
Valses Nobles et Sentimentales (Elegant and Lyrical Waltzes) pays tribute to the work of Franz Schubert. Composed in 1911 and orchestrated in 1912 to serve as music for the ballet Adélaïde, ou le langage des fleurs (Adelaide, or the language of flowers), these eight uninterrupted waltzes abound in Schubertian characteristics, with their lilting rhythms, rubato, balanced phrases, straightforward form, and unexpected harmonic subtleties.

Dover (2001) republication of Le Tombeau de Couperin/Suite d'Orchestre and Valses Nobles et Sentimentales, originally published by Durand & Cie, Paris, 1919 and 1912, respectively.
AvailabilityUsually ships in 24 to 48 hours
ISBN 100486418987
ISBN 139780486418988
Author/EditorMaurice Ravel
FormatMusic Scores
Page Count144
Dimensions9 1/4 x 12 1/4

You might also Like...

Product Review

Out of Stock Notification:
Market Restrictions:
We're sorry, but we cannot ship this product to addresses in France. Although we try to make our products available everywhere, we occasionally have agreements with distribution partners, other publishers or face international copyright restrictions that prevent us from doing so.