L'Estro Armonico, Op. 3, in Full Score: 12 Concertos for 1, 2 and 4 Violins

L'Estro Armonico, Op. 3, in Full Score: 12 Concertos for 1, 2 and 4 Violins

By: Antonio Vivaldi

  • Music Scores
  • Reg. Price › $22.95
  • Share this book:
  • Share on Google+

Although he composed in many musical genres, Vivaldi truly redefined the concerto and made it distinctly his own. And although adept at writing for a variety of instruments, the violin remained his primary instrument. The composer's 12 concertos known as "L'estro armonico" [Harmonic Innovation] are distinguished from all other ensemble music of their time by their emphasis on virtuosity, their rhythmic exuberance, flexible instrumentation, independent approaches to thematic development, and their genuine innovations in concerto form.
This magnificent work, dedicated to the Florentine Grand Prince Ferdinand III de Medici, incorporates twelve works organized as four sets. Each set contains a concerto for four solo violins, one for two solo violins, and one for a single solo violin.
A distinguished addition to the music literature, this volume has been newly edited and engraved under the guidance of Dr. Eleanor Selfridge-Field, a recognized authority on music of the Italian Baroque, with associate editor Edmund Correia, Jr.

Dover Original.
AvailabilityUsually ships in 24 to 48 hours
ISBN 100486406318
ISBN 139780486406312
Author/EditorAntonio Vivaldi
FormatMusic Scores
Page Count272
Dimensions8 3/8 x 11

You might also Like...

Out of Stock Notification: