Symphonie Fantastique, Op. 14 (Episode in the Life of an Artist)

Symphonie Fantastique, Op. 14 (Episode in the Life of an Artist)

By: Hector Berlioz

  • Music Scores
  • Reg. Price › $12.95
  • Share this book:
  • Share on Google+

Hector Berlioz (1803–69), considered the father of modern orchestration, possessed an intuitive musical genius. A brilliant colorist and master of the unexpected rhythmic break, he brought a new symphonic richness to Romantic music. Berlioz was both damned and venerated by his contemporaries: Mendelsson considered him devoid of talent, and Paganini declared him the one true heir to the spirit of Beethoven. The composer seems to have sought in music a way to soothe and give voice to the psychological instabilities and contradictions that more than once brought him to despair. He pioneered the development of what has come to be called "program music" — i.e., instrumental music with an extramusical significance. He strove to communicate musically the experiences, psychological themes, scenic descriptions, and literary allusions more commonly associated with the confessional writings of Romantic poets.
This newest addition to Dover's critically praised music score series presents two of the greatest of these program pieces, Symphonie Fantastique and Harold in Italy. Here are the full scores of both major symphonic works — painstakingly reproduced from the authoritative Breitkopf & Hartel edition, available for the first time in one convenient volume — plus Berlioz's "program" for the Symphonie Fantastique. Musicians and music lovers everywhere will value this high-quality inexpensive edition, ideal for study and performance.

Reprint of the Breitkopf & Härtel edition.
AvailabilityUsually ships in 24 to 48 hours
ISBN 100486298906
ISBN 139780486298900
Author/EditorHector Berlioz
FormatMusic Scores
Page Count160
Dimensions6 x 9

You might also Like...

Out of Stock Notification: