L' Arlésienne Suites Nos. 1 & 2 Full Score

L' Arlésienne Suites Nos. 1 & 2 Full Score

By: Georges Bizet

  • Share this book:
  • Share on Google+

The vitality, rich color, abundant and varied melody, and masterly orchestration of Bizet's Carmen also enliven his incidental music for Alphonse Daudet's play L'Arlésienne (The Woman of Arles). Despite hostile reviews at its premiere, one critic proclaimed the score a masterpiece and urged all young musicians to study it.
L'Arlésienne Suites Nos. 1 and 2 consist of selections from Bizet's incidental music. For Suite No. 1, Bizet chose four sections from the original score of 27 episodes, extensively modifying and rescoring the music in the process. The pieces for Suite No. 2 were selected and reorchestrated by Bizet's close friend Ernest Guiraud following the composer's death in 1875. Reproduced here from the authoritative Breitkopf & Härtel editions, they will delight musicians and music lovers.

Reprinted from the Breitkopf & Härtel, Wiesbaden, Germany, n.d. editions.
AvailabilityOut of Stock
ISBN 100486298159
ISBN 139780486298153
Author/EditorGeorges Bizet
FormatMusic Scores
Page Count128
Dimensions9 x 12

You might also Like...

Product Review

Out of Stock Notification:
Coming Soon: