Masses and Motets

Masses and Motets

By: Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina

  • Music Scores
  • Reg. Price › $22.95
  • Share this book:
  • Share on Google+

This product has limited availability outside the US. Click here for details.

Despite his vast output (105 masses, over 250 motets), Giovanni de Palestrina (c. 1525–1594) maintained an extraordinary level of quality in his music. With Byrd and Lassus, he ranks among the greatest composers of the last sixteenth century and a study of his work is essential for serious students and scholars.
This volume contains six masses by the composer, as well as a selection of motets. Certain of the masses are "parody" masses, i.e. they are based on a motet or other works by Palestrina or another composer. In such cases, the original motet, or chant, has also been included here. The six masses are: Missa Papae Marcelli (his most famous), Missa L'Homme Armé, Missa O Magnum Mysterian (plus motet), Missa Ave Regina Coelorum (plus chant), Missa Veni Sponsa Christi (plus motet), and Missa Ascendo ad Patrem (plus motet). Written for unaccompanied voices, these compositions rank among the finest works of a towering figure in early music. In this inexpensive, authoritative edition, they will be welcomed by all students and lovers of sacred music.

Reproduced from authoritative Scalera edition.
AvailabilityUsually ships in 24 to 48 hours
ISBN 100486276317
ISBN 139780486276311
Author/EditorGiovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina
FormatMusic Scores
Page Count240
Dimensions8 3/8 x 11

You might also Like...

Product Review

Out of Stock Notification:
Coming Soon:
Market Restrictions:
We're sorry, but we cannot ship this product to addresses in Hungary, Lithuania, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Switzerland and countries that are part of the European Union. Although we try to make our products available everywhere, we occasionally have agreements with distribution partners, other publishers or face international copyright restrictions that prevent us from doing so.