Christmas Oratorio in Full Score

Christmas Oratorio in Full Score

By: Johann Sebastian Bach

  • Music Scores
  • Reg. Price › $24.95
  • Share this book:
  • Share on Google+

Composed for celebrations from Christmas to Epiphany and first produced in Leipzig in 1734–35, Bach's Christmas Oratorio unfolds movingly in a set of six cantatas unified by a single narrative recounting the birth of Christ. Traditional passages from the Gospels of Luke and Matthew are presented in recitative, interspersed with arias and choruses that provide powerful emotional and contemplative responses to the story.
Among the most famous segments of the Christmas Oratorio are the great opening chorus, "Jauchzet, frohlocket!" the beautiful pastoral Sinfonia, the bass aria "Grosser Herr, und starker König," the alto aria "Schlafe, mein Liebster" and the closing chorus, "Nun seid ihr wohl gerochen." This masterpiece of sacred music, for centuries a favorite of concert audiences and church congregations throughout the Christmas season, has been reproduced directly from the authoritative Bach-Gesellschaft edition published by Breitkopf & Härtel.

Reprint of Weihnachts-Oratorium from Johann Sebastian Bach's Werke, Breitkopf & Hartel, Leipzig, 1856.
AvailabilityUsually ships in 24 to 48 hours
ISBN 100486272303
ISBN 139780486272306
Author/EditorJohann Sebastian Bach
FormatMusic Scores
Page Count272
Dimensions9 x 12

You might also Like...

Product Review

Out of Stock Notification: