Organ Works

Organ Works

By: Robert Schumann, Johannes Brahms, Felix Mendelssohn

  • Music Scores
  • Reg. Price › $21.95
  • Share this book:
  • Share on Google+

When Brahms, Mendelssohn, and Schumann composed for the organ, all three of these great Romantics turned for inspiration to the musical style of the late Baroque period, especially the music of Johann Sebastian Bach. Schumann's only compositions for organ were his Six Fugues on the Name BACH. And Brahms and Mendelssohn both emulated late Baroque style with considerable success when they composed for the organ. Included here are Brahms's beautiful Eleven Choral Preludes and Mendelssohn's Six Sonatas, basic repertoire works for every organist, as well as the Mendelssohn Three Preludes and Fugues — almost as well known. Now these and other fine pieces are presented in this convenient volume, all reprinted from the authoritative Breitkopf & Härtel editions:
Johannes Brahms: Two Preludes and Fugues; Fugue in A-flat Minor; Chorale Prelude and Fugue on "O Traurigkeit, o Herzeleid"; Eleven Chorale Preludes, Op. 122.
Felix Mendelssohn: Three Preludes and Fugues, Op. 37; Six Sonatas, Op. 65.
Robert Schumann: Six Fugues on the Name BACH, Op. 60.

Reprint of the Breitkopf & Härtel, Leipzig, 1927 edition.
AvailabilityUsually ships in 24 to 48 hours
ISBN 100486268284
ISBN 139780486268286
Author/EditorRobert Schumann, Johannes Brahms, Felix Mendelssohn
FormatMusic Scores
Page Count176
Dimensions9 3/8 x 12 1/4

You might also Like...

Product Review

Out of Stock Notification: