The Fugues on the Magnificat for Organ or Keyboard

The Fugues on the Magnificat for Organ or Keyboard

By: Johann Pachelbel

  • Music Scores
  • Reg. Price › $16.95
  • Share this book:
  • Share on Google+

This product has limited availability outside the US. Click here for details.

"All the accumulated evidence indicates beyond doubt that he was one of the greatest and most productive composers of his time and that he left a musical legacy whose value increases with the ages." — Grove's Dictionary of Music and Musicians.
The unaffected, exquisitely concise grace manifested in the works of Johann Pachelbel (1653–1706) earned the composer a considerable reputation in his lifetime and has endured through nearly three centuries. His profound effect on the history of music is most notable in the enormous popularity of his Canon in D Major as well as the intense respect shown by students, scholars, and keyboard artists studying the composer's incredible legacy of keyboard masterworks.
Among the finest, most performed, and most studied of Pachelbel's works are the 95 short, preludial fugues on the Magnificat. Written during Pachelbel's final appointment as organist of St. Sebald, Nuremberg (his native city), they constitute a magnificent culmination to a prolific career. Collected in one convenient volume, these are among the most expressive pieces ever composed for organ or keyboard. Pachelbel's masterful understanding of harmony and counterpoint blend perfectly with a pure and constant spirit of reverence.
Today's keyboard artist should note that many of these works do not require a pedal and can be played on the piano or harpsichord as well as the organ. Ideal for reading, study, and performance, with large noteheads, wide margins, and clear reproductions, this modestly priced playing edition of nearly 100 fugues is an essential addition to the libraries of every serious keyboard artist, student, and scholar.

Reprint of a volume in the series Denkmäler der Tonkunst in Osterreich, Akademische Druck- und Verlagsanstalt, Graz, Austria, 1959.
AvailabilityUsually ships in 24 to 48 hours
ISBN 100486250377
ISBN 139780486250373
Author/EditorJohann Pachelbel
FormatMusic Scores
Page Count100
Dimensions9 x 12

You might also Like...

Product Review

Out of Stock Notification:
Coming Soon:
Market Restrictions:
We're sorry, but we cannot ship this product to addresses in Hungary, Lithuania, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Switzerland and countries that are part of the European Union. Although we try to make our products available everywhere, we occasionally have agreements with distribution partners, other publishers or face international copyright restrictions that prevent us from doing so.