Eleven Late String Quartets, Opp. 74, 76 and 77, Complete

Eleven Late String Quartets, Opp. 74, 76 and 77, Complete

By: Joseph Haydn

  • Music Scores
  • Reg. Price › $24.95
  • Share this book:
  • Share on Google+

"It was from Haydn that I first learned the true way to compose quartets." — Mozart Eleven Late String Quartets marks the first volume in a projected monumental undertaking — the complete Haydn string quartets. Players and students, music historians, and Haydn lovers will have inexpensive access to a uniform, strongly bound, and clearly printed modern edition of Haydn's finest pieces in complete score. Musicians, music students, and music publishers have a difficult time keeping up with Haydn, whose ceaseless production of original, first-rate work was legendary. He essayed most of the recognized genres, confessing upon several a legacy of expanded possibilities and clearly defined, characteristic form. Among these may be mentioned the symphony, the sonata, and perhaps most notably, the quartet. In a period of 50 years, Haydn (1732–1809) composed over 80 string quartets. Scholars are still debating questions of attribution and even completeness (unknown works by Haydn still turn up) and music lovers have had to make do with scattered, out-of-date, out-of-print editions of a few of the more familiar quartets. Haydn's affinity to the quartet began with his earliest works, when he perhaps more than anyone established the 4-movement structure of chamber music. In common with truly great and complete artists, who surpass early innovation to achieve their greatest work at the end, Haydn's last quarters are his best. This work contains the full scores of Op. 74, Nos. 1–3 (including The Horseman); Op. 76, Nos. 1–6 (including The Bell, The Donkey, Emperor, and Sunrise); and Op. 77, Nos. 1, 2 (including Wait till the clouds roll by). Large, readable noteheads, ample margins for fingerings, etc., opaque paper and permanent binding make this a fundamental addition to music libraries and musicians' repertories.

Reprint of the Ernst Eulenburg Ltd., London, n.d. editions.
AvailabilityUsually ships in 24 to 48 hours
ISBN 100486237532
ISBN 139780486237534
Author/EditorJoseph Haydn
FormatMusic Scores
Page Count320
Dimensions8 3/8 x 11 1/4

You might also Like...

Out of Stock Notification: