Organ Music

Organ Music

By: Johann Sebastian Bach

  • Music Scores
  • Reg. Price › $24.95
  • Share this book:
  • Share on Google+

The renowned Bach-Gesellschaft — founded in 1850 to collect, edit, and publish all the known works of J. S. Bach — devoted 50 years to its monumental task. It succeeded so well in tracking down Bach's heritage, establishing authenticity, and transcribing accurate texts that it still remains the primary source for Bach's music. Unfortunately, it has always been a fantastically expensive publication, accessible only in the largest libraries.
This volume reprints in full, directly from the Bach-Gesellschaft volumes, important organ music by the greatest composer for the organ. It contains the full texts of the Six Trio Sonatas; the St. Anne Prelude and Fugue in E-flat Major; the Four Duets and Seventeen Chorale Preludes (the "German Organ Mass") from the Clavierübung; the complete Orgelbüchlein; the Six Schübler Chorales; and the Eighteen Chorale Preludes. Appendices also reproduce two early variants from the Orgelbüchlein and 115 from the Eighteen Choral Preludes.
This music has been reproduced in large, clear type, directly from the original editions, for maximum clarity. Designed as a playing edition, it will not only be a necessary part of the library of every church organist, it will be a basic book in the library of every organist, keyboard performer, musicologist, student, and music lover.

Reprint of the Bach-Gesellschaft Orgelwerke, Volumes 15 and 25.2, and Clavierwerke, Volume 3.
AvailabilityUsually ships in 24 to 48 hours
ISBN 100486223590
ISBN 139780486223599
Author/EditorJohann Sebastian Bach
FormatMusic Scores
Page Count368
Dimensions8 1/4 x 11

You might also Like...

Out of Stock Notification: