For the best experience, please enable Javascript
Warning - This version of Internet Explorer is out of date. It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this website correctly. Please consider updating this browser.

First Fig and Other Poems

First Fig and Other Poems

By: Edna St. Vincent Millay

  • Book
  • Reg. Price › $2.50
  • eBook
  • Sale Price › $1.60
  • Paperback + eBook
  • Reg. Price › $2.75
  • Share this book:
  • Share on Google+

From the bohemian outpost of Greenwich Village during the Jazz Age, Edna St. Vincent Millay (1892–1950) sounded a clarion call for the impassioned youth of her generation. Her rare mixture of clever cynicism and wistful tenderness captivated readers, who reveled in the jubilant defiance of such poems as the title piece of this collection, "First Fig": "My candle burns at both ends;/It will not last the night;/But ah, my foes, and oh, my friends — /it gives a lovely light!"
Their brilliance undimmed by the passage of time, these gemlike verses continue to dazzle poetry lovers. This new anthology represents the quintessential Edna St. Vincent Millay, comprising 67 poems from two of her most popular works, A Few Figs from Thistles and Second April. Its contents include such well-known and much-studied poems as "Recuerdo" and "The Philosopher," along with an abundance of sonnets, a genre in which the Pulitzer Prize–winning poet excelled.
The perfect introduction for those as yet unacquainted with one of the most distinctive voices of 20th-century poetry, this volume also offers a high-quality, inexpensive treasury of favorite Millay works for devotees of her verse.

Reprint of poems from Second April, Harper & Brothers, New York, 1921 and A Few Figs from Thistles, Harper & Brothers, New York, 1922.
AvailabilityUsually ships in 24 to 48 hours
ISBN 100486411044
ISBN 139780486411040
Author/EditorEdna St. Vincent Millay
Page Count64
Dimensions5 x 8

You might also Like...

Product Review

Out of Stock Notification:
Coming Soon: