Serenades Nos. 1 and 2 in Full Score

Serenades Nos. 1 and 2 in Full Score

By: Johannes Brahms

  • Music Scores
  • Reg. Price › $19.95
  • Share this book:
  • Share on Google+

These two serenades reflect Brahms's interest, during the years 1858 and 1859, in the symphonies of Haydn and Mozart, as well as the latter's exquisite divertimenti, scored for small instrumental ensembles. Serenade No. 1 in D major was in fact originally composed for nine woodwinds and solo strings, then later rescored for full orchestra. Its six movements — graceful, melodious, and light-textured — reflect the elegance of the Mozart model while entertaining us with Brahms's characteristically spacious, flowing themes.
Serenade No. 2 in A major for Small Orchestra was a favorite of Brahms — warm, intimate, and darkly colored because of the unusual absence of violins. Referring to the work as his "beautiful opus," the composer often reflected on its delicacy and the "severe test" of performing its pensive Adagio, the third movement of five.
This attractive, inexpensive edition — combining both serenades in a single volume — is sure to appeal to a wide audience of musicians and music lovers.

Reprint of early authoritative editions.
AvailabilityUsually ships in 24 to 48 hours
ISBN 10048640854X
ISBN 139780486408545
Author/EditorJohannes Brahms
FormatMusic Scores
Page Count256
Dimensions8 3/8 x 11 1/4

You might also Like...

Product Review

Out of Stock Notification:
Coming Soon: