London Symphonies Nos. 93-98

London Symphonies Nos. 93-98

By: Joseph Haydn

  • Music Scores
  • Reg. Price › $24.95
  • Share this book:
  • Share on Google+

It was in his monumental 12 "London" symphonies, composed between 1791 and 1795, that Haydn shaped the early form of the symphony and set the standard for later composers. According to the New Grove's Dictionary of Music and Musicians, the appeal of these works stems from their stature as "grand" symphonies, embodying a "broader presentation of musical ideas" and "themes and motifs of a basic simplicity and immediate appeal."
The present volume contains the first six symphonies in the series, including the famous "Surprise" Symphony (No. 94), the exceptional No. 95 (in C Minor), and the innovative "Miracle" Symphony (No. 96).
Scores included in this volume are Symphony No. 93 in D Major; Symphony No. 94 in G Major ("The Surprise); Symphony No. 95 in C Major; Symphony No. 96 in D Major ("The Miracle"); Symphony No. 97 in C Major; and Symphony No. 98 in B-flat Major.
The attractive qualities of the London Symphonies have made them perennial favorites with musicians and concertgoers for over two hundred years. Now music lovers can study and enjoy the elegant structure and polished orchestration of the first six of these enduring masterpieces in this new, authoritative full-score edition.

Reprint of an authoritative early edition.
AvailabilityUsually ships in 24 to 48 hours
ISBN 100486297543
ISBN 139780486297545
Author/EditorJoseph Haydn
FormatMusic Scores
Page Count320
Dimensions8 3/8 x 11 1/4

You might also Like...

Product Review

Out of Stock Notification:
Coming Soon: