Warning - This version of Internet Explorer is out of date. It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this website correctly. Please consider updating this browser.

Rare Masterpieces of Russian Piano Music: Eleven Pieces by Glinka, Balakirev, Glazunov and Others

Rare Masterpieces of Russian Piano Music: Eleven Pieces by Glinka, Balakirev, Glazunov and Others

By: Dmitry Feofanov

  • Music Scores
  • Reg. Price › $14.95
  • Share this book:
  • Share on Google+

A great musical tradition flourished in the late 19th- and early-20th-century Russia, nurturing such renowned composers as Mussorgsky, Tchaikovsky, Rachmaninov, and Prokofiev. Unfortunately, many superb compositions by lesser Russian composers have been eclipsed by the works of these giants.
In this volume, University of Kentucky musicologist Dmitry Feofanov presents eleven overlooked masterpieces — important Russian piano works of the late 18th to 20th centuries virtually unobtainable elsewhere. Here is Mikhail Glinka's Prayer, a rare program piece by the founder of Russian opera, the first composer whose music was performed in the West; German-born Johann Hässler's Sonata-Fantasie, Op. 4, which anticipates Beethoven in structure; and Sergey Liapunov's Transcendental Etude, Op. 11, No. 10, a stunning tour de force of piano technique. Also included in this impressive collection:
Balakirev: Rêverie
Glazunov: Prelude and Fugue in D Minor, Op. 62
Griboyedov: Two Waltzes
Kalinnikov: Nocturne in F-Sharp Minor
Liadov: Prelude, Op. 11, No.1
Medtner: Sonata in G Minor, Op. 22
Schlözer: Etude in A-flat, Op. 1, No. 2
Taneyev: Prelude and Fugue, Op. 29
All scores are authoritative, reprinted from rare Russian texts, many of which are now out of print — with new translations of performance instructions. Short biographies of each composer and background information on each piece round out this fine, modestly priced performance and study edition — sure to appeal to pianists, students, music historians, and music lovers everywhere.

Dover Original
AvailabilityUsually ships in 24 to 48 hours
ISBN 100486246590
ISBN 139780486246598
Author/EditorDmitry Feofanov
FormatMusic Scores
Page Count144
Dimensions9 x 12

You might also Like...

Product Review

Out of Stock Notification:
Coming Soon: